AstronomyMike has landed!

Hi all, and welcome to my Southern Hemisphere astronomy blog.  Please bear with me while I get used to this blogging lark!

Anyway, I thought that I’d give this a go, now that the Christmas and New Year antics are over, so I hope you enjoy it.  The main reason for setting up this blog was so that I could encourage as many of you as possible to take an interest in what many of us take for granted – the night sky.  Feel free to pop over to my About AstronomyMike page to find out how I got involved in astronomy and what equipment I use.

For now, my astronomy equipment limits me to imaging the Moon and planets in our own solar system, but eventually I hope to be able to do some deep sky imaging so you can see some of the incredibly stunning nebulae and galaxies that are out there.  That’s not to say that the Moon and our planets are boring!  Far from it.  In fact, it wasn’t until I started imaging these objects that I realised how much there was to learn about them, and I hope to be able to pass on some of this information with images that I share with you.

Here are a couple of my recent images that won first place and first equal respectively in the RASNZ (Royal Astronomical Society of NZ) Spring 2009 Astrophotography Competitions :-

Craters Catharina, Cyrillus & Theophilus

First Place - Solar System Category

The 3 large craters (top to bottom) are Catharina, Cyrillus and Theophilus.  To the left of the craters is Mare Nectaris (the smooth lava-flooded impact basin).  Not far to the right of Cyrillus was the landing site of Apollo 16.

7.5 Day (First Quarter) Moon

First Equal Place - Favourite Category

This is an image of a 7.5-day (First Quarter) Moon (in other words, 7.5 days after New Moon) taken on November 24, 2009, and is a mosaic of 4 images stitched together to create one large image.

It’s nice to see that Joel Raupe has blogged about a couple of my images too over at Lunar Networks! Thanks Joel.

I look forward to sharing some more images with you soon!

Clear skies! – Mike

6 Responses to “AstronomyMike has landed!”

  1. Great site Mike! Well done.

  2. Matt Hook Says:

    Very nice Mike.

    How are you taking the pictures through the telescope?

    • Thanks Matt. Currently I use an Imaging Source DMK41AF02 astronomy camera at prime focus (sometimes with a barlow, and sometimes without) and create a series of uncompressed avi files, which are then processed using either AviStack or Registax, plus post-processing with AstraImage Pro and Photoshop Elements.

Leave a Reply

